Sleep is for the Departed

There is probably no way to relegate this, what some will likely call innate, brief post to any other sub-heading on The Social Sonic Traveler besides the malleably miscellaneous section I affectionately call “Ramblings” – which is to say that this post really has very little to do with any of my core areas of focus on the blog.  Instead, I am talking about that universal human experience that I don’t seem to be desiring (or needing very much of) these days: sleep.  Since I have made the permanent move to Manhattan, I have recanted to my friends and apartment mates in the city – who see my Foursquarefeed come alive at around 6:30 AM each and every morning and scratch their heads at why an individual, without a nine-to-five job, would ever, on their own volition, wake-up so early – that sleeping is for the departed.

English: James Maas speaking at The UP Experie...

Image via Wikipedia

While we can all agree certainly that a proper amount of sleep every night is vitally important for maintaining a certain level of physical and mental health (thank you renowned Cornell University professor , James Maas) the sentiment has never resonated so much with me than it has in these first 10 days as a New Yorker.  With so much opportunity and activity in this pulsating place, who could ever feel compelled to sleep their days away while the Center of the Universe is essentially beckoning you upon leaving your apartment’s front stoop?  The very idea just confounds me.  To that end, I simply want to share with you all some of my favorite quotes that are most applicable to my lifestyle at this moment; I hope many of you can relate:

Sleeping is no mean art:  for its sake one must stay awake all day.  ~Friedrich Nietzsche

If you can’t sleep, then get up and do something instead of lying there worrying.  It’s the worry that gets you, not the lack of sleep.  ~Dale Carnegie

Most people do not consider dawn to be an attractive experience – unless they are still up.  ~Ellen Goodman

Leisure time is that five or six hours when you sleep at night.  ~George Allen

Sleep is a symptom of caffeine deprivation.  ~Author Unknown

Fatigue is the best pillow.  ~Benjamin Franklin

2 thoughts on “Sleep is for the Departed

Leave a Reply

