Songs Spinning on My iPod: February 2013

Screen shot 2013-02-03 at 1.47.54 AMEver since I recommitted to my blogging efforts in late 2011, one of my most reliable posts was the recurring Songs Spinning on My iPod series. Each of these monthly posts featured a fairly diverse set of new or soon-to-be-released recordings from various current pop, R&B and country artists. While the lists varied in length and sometimes featured a specific seasonal or remembrance theme, they consistently were representative of music that was “of the moment.”

With the dawn of a new a year, I have decided to change up the format slightly of this monthly blog feature. While the spirit of the playlists will remain the same – including current mainstream song selections being serviced to pop, rhythmic, urban and country radio outlets – I will be relying solely on Spotify for sharing my choices.

Subscribe to my playlist on Spotify February 2013: Songs Spinning on My iPod

If you have yet to join the Spotify community, I highly suggest that you do, as the music streaming application has become my exclusive means for music consumption, even dethroning the reign of my iTunes library downloads. Even though some are deterred by the platform’s limitations – the free version features fairly disruptive advertisements, a premium subscription will cost you $9.99/month, and either one will require a reliable WiFi or data connection – it truly is the best social streaming service available on the market.

This month’s Songs Spinning post features around 75 songs that are currently going for radio station ads or are rapidly ascending the mainstream charts. Some of the artists featured on the list include:

  • Top 40/Mainstream: AWOLNATION, Bruno Mars, Carly Rae Jepsen, Cher Lloyd, Christina Aguilera, David Guetta, Far East Movement, Fun., Justin Timberlake, Ke$ha, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Olly Murs, One Direction, OneRepublic, Phillip Phillips, Rihanna, Swedish House Mafia, will.i.am
  • Top 40/Rhythmic: ASAP Rocky, B. Smyth, Drake, Emeli Sandi, Future, Jermaine Paul, Krewella, Lupe Fiasco, Nelly, Pitbull, Skylar Grey, The Weeknd, Trey Songz, Zedd
  • Urban/Urban Adult Contemporary: Kelly Rowland, Keyshia Cole, Lil Wayne, Miguel, Tamar Braxton, The Game, T.I., Trinidad James, Tyga, Watch the Duck
  • Country: The Band Perry, Blake Shelton, Carrie Underwood, Florida Georgia Line, Lee Brice Little Big Town, Taylor Swift, Thompson Square, Tim McGraw, Toby Keith

Subscribe to my playlist on Spotify: February 2013 Songs Spinning on My iPod

Screen shot 2013-02-03 at 1.23.01 AM

One thought on “Songs Spinning on My iPod: February 2013

Leave a Reply

